It’s Finals Time!

Now that we start to say goodbye to November and say hello to December, it’s time to prepare for finals in school! Yay! So who’s ready for the late nights, coffee runs, and academic miracles performed by God?! I am! Because I’m ready to start my holiday break. So are you wondering how you can be successful? How to pull out that A or B? Here are a few of my best practices below. I hope they help!

  1. Organize your notes and study schedule. I have found that I am more successful and clear-headed when I organize everything ahead of time. I usually plan out my study method, how much I’ll complete each session and how much time I’ll allocate to the subject based on my current level of confidence in my knowledge of the content.
  2. Solidify a study space. During undergrad, my school library was open 24 hours during the week before and the week of finals. This was great because I was able to set aside late hours to power through some assignments. For example, I spent 3 days in a row working on a final paper from 9pm-midnight each day. This allowed me to procrastinate (sorry but I do procrastinate and it works sometimes) and still complete a quality paper based on my study schedule. Oh and did I mention that I still got at least 6-7 hours of sleep?! That’s a record high for crunch time.
  3. Take care of your health. The last thing I wanted was a cold during this busy time of year and it can really slow you down physically and mentally. This time last year I got soooo sick and I still had plenty of assignments and a play to do. It was torture but I survived. Avoid going through a cold at all costs by getting enough sleep and eating all three meals each day. Trust me, you want to do this. You’ll thank me for it later. If you happen to catch (or it catches you…) drink lots of water, orange juice, take cold medicine in the early stages of the cold and get lots of sleep!

Those honestly are the most important things to remember when getting through finals week at school. You just have to keep your goals in mind and stick to the plan that you set for yourself. Good luck everyone! Happy finals!

Leave a Reply

