Career Planning: It’s Alright To Be Lost

I’m going to be honest with you all, I was super excited to start this site/blog but I had no idea what direction to go in. I created a business plan that I thought was full proof, just had to follow the steps (I won the competition with it at my school for goodness sakes) but all the pieces just aren’t seeming to fit. If I knew nothing else about myself, I knew that I was an entrepreneur. Although I’m not the best idea generator, I have the skills to organize, persuade and communicate. The only problem…I’m horrible with execution.

So fast forward a few months from starting this idea and I’m still lost in what to focus on. Should I stick to creating custom planners, or just collect information from other bloggers and become a hub of resources? Well, I like the idea of making crafty organization tools like desk organizers. This is all too much, right?! I need to hone in on my actual idea.

That’s when it hit me, I need to follow my passion. Since forever I’ve always liked to organize things. As a child I organized business ideas, my school desk…well my room at home not so much, but you get the idea. I realized that all the extra business aspects that aren’t my strongest skills and passion are holding me back from moving forward. I need to make the idea fit me, not fit myself to the idea.

So for all of you who are struggling to find your place in life, let alone college, do not be afraid of not knowing what to do. If following your passion/skills cause you to change your major, do it sooner than later. You’ll love college ten times more when you join a program that actually interests you. Also, its good to know what you like and what you’re good at but not knowing what to do with it is normal. My first internship taught me what field to stay away from within my industry. So take advantage of time in college to grow into yourself and really building on that. Here are some key things I learned throughout college about choosing a career:

1. General education requirements allow you to be versatile. Later in life you may be able to take that new job because of your sociology or basic economics knowledge.

2. Career services were created for a reason, because colleges realize that it’s difficult to discover your niche alone. So use them!

3. Clubs on campus are considered co-curricular for a reason. You learn a lot about project management, group dynamics and most of all, your own work ethic and skills. Join a few to learn about your leadership style and which leadership positions fit you best.

4. College is a time to discover yourself and your talents. It’s OK to not have it all figured out at a time where people know you won’t have the slightest clue.

5. Be proactive in your development. Do research, take personality quizzes, take workshops and short courses in areas of interest. Always seek more knowledge to better yourself and better understand what your passion is and where your strengths lie.

I hope this article helped all of you who are freaking out about life after college or just now realizing that everything you had figured out has changed. I’ll keep you updated on how following my passion had allowed me to be more organized and focused on my business idea.

Til next time…

B Chic

Leave a Reply

